Are You Sitting Comfortably?

My FamilyA spanking from BBC sitcom My Family first shown last Friday and repeated today so I was able to record it from the TV after the Wimbledon men’s final. Thanks to Martyn for reporting this.

In the episode Labour Pains, Zoe Wanamaker spanks her grown up daughter, the lovely Daniela Denby-Ashe, over the knee. The pair have both applied for the same job as children’s TV presenters and mother/daughter rivalries spill over during the audition.

Janey has been asking for a spanking ever since this show began 10 years ago and she finally got her just deserts in what is scheduled to be the last ever series. She was threatened with a spanking in series 5 too, in an episode called Going Dental, but this time it was by her long suffering dad played by Robert Lindsay. He uses a similar line to the mother in the clip: “You’re not too old to have a spanking.”

Daniela would have been 25 at the time of the first threat. And now she is 33 but still not too old!

daniela denby ashe waterloo road

Update (2012) : Daniela is currently starring as a very foxy school teacher in another BBC series Waterloo Road.

13 thoughts on “Are You Sitting Comfortably?”

  1. Luther: I was praying the tennis didn’t go to five sets or they would have cancelled it!

    FatherJim: Thanks, glad you enjoyed the clip and I agree there is something a bit special about this one. A throwback to a more innocent age of spanking scenes really – like something from the 1950s.

    Karl: Comfortably numb? πŸ™‚ I just couldn’t resist the irony of the title considering what comes next!

  2. This just in from Martyn:

    “Looks like the ‘my family’ scene was a hit with your readers. I couldn’t believe what I was watching when I first saw it – sort of wondered whether I was dreaming or not! Seeing the clip again on your site, it was even better than I first thought.

    There was another spanking reference in the show a few series back. It was an episode (Dentally Unstable) where a new, good looking dentist (Patrick Baladi) joins the practice to cover for Ben who is away at a conference. Janey starts to go out with him not knowing that he is a married man. Susan tries to warn Janey off the guy but secretly fancies him as well. Janey’s response was something like this:

    JANEY: Stop worrying mother, what do you think he going to do – tie me up with dental floss and spank me.

    At this point both women gaze off into the middle distance clearly enjoying the metal imagery (As was I at that point!)”

  3. Thanks again, Valdor! You’re absolutely right, I enjoyed the innocent sexiness of this spanking; too often now it’s presented as brutal and/or demented. Not that the somewhat demented of us take serious offense at that… πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

